‘Four Weddings and a Christmas’ by Phillipa Ashley

Genre: Adult Fiction – Chic Lit

Published: 2023

Format: eBook

Rating: ★★★★

I always love returning to a Phillipa Ashley book. Festive feelings all the way through, with a romance at its heart, a second chance romance. It’s a fun read with some deeper aspects about absent fathers, problems with commitment, and broken engagements. Just the thing to brighten up these darker nights.

I liked Freya with her determination for her business to make it succeed. Travis was an interesting character, also building up his own business, along with his siblings Bree and Seb. It was obvious from the first chapter that Freya and Travis had a history, her running out on a fake wedding in primary school, scared and afraid. Seb was damaged and had almost given up before Travis came back into his life. Their relationship was fraught but repairable.

The inevitable third act break-up follows but at least this time it’s not due to miscommunication or someone not talking. It’s because of honesty, and that I can deal with. It’s when someone isn’t saying what they feel that I get incredibly frustrated. Travis and Freya are working through some issues from their previous broken engagement and they both are unsure of their developing feelings and how to change the bargain they struck.

I’m so glad I discovered Phillipa Ashley as I seem to be devouring every one of her books that I can get my hands on! This may be one of my favourites of hers, a proper romantic festive read where they come together. The epilogue was beautiful!

1 thought on “‘Four Weddings and a Christmas’ by Phillipa Ashley

  1. Pingback: Monthly Reading Summary – January 2024 | BookBloggerish

Leave a comment